top of page

Former Nintendo President Reginald Fils-Aimé, Cameroonian Developers Kiro’o Games, Actor Chris Judge

The Black In Gaming Awards honors the outstanding achievements and contributions to video games by black game developers and corporate allies. This year’s show digitally presents the fourth annual ceremony on Sept. 12 at 7:15 p.m. (PT) simulcasted as a part of PAX Online and on the Black in Gaming Twitch channel

Created by a Special Interest Group of the International Game Developers Association called Black In Gaming (BIG), also supported by the IGDA Foundation (IGDA-F), the BIG Awards are sponsored by Sony Interactive Entertainment, Unity Technologies, and Niantic Inc.

This year’s winners include leaders forging new paths for games and shaping strategy on a global stage, like Champion Award recipient Sarah Bond, Microsoft’s Corporate Vice President of Global Gaming Partnerships and Development at Xbox. The Image Award will go to Shana Bryant for her 14-year career as a successful producer at Capcom, Midway Games, and Electronic Arts.

The luminaries list continues with Chris Judge, the iconic voice of Kratos in 2018’s best selling PlayStation 4 exclusive God of War, receiving the award for Excellence in Performance. Beloved former president and chief operating officer of Nintendo of America, Reginald Fils-Aimé, will receive the BIG Awards’ Legacy Award. 

Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Mike Pondsmith, founder and CEO of R. Talsorian Games, has written for several RPG lines including Mekton, Cyberpunk, and Castle Falkenstein.

Full List of Award Recipients

  • Reginald Fils-Aimé - Legacy Award

  • Mike Pondsmith - Jerry Lawson Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Sarah Bond - Champion Award

  • Shana Bryant - Image Award

  • Chris Judge - Excellence in Performance

  • Erlson Neba - Excellence in Artistry

  • Raymond Graham - Excellence in Programming

  • Marcus Montgomery - Excellence in Product & Design

  • Kiro’o Games for Aurion Legacy of the Kori-Odan - Indie Developer Award

  • Keisha Howard - Industry Spotlight Award

  • Kahlief Adams - Excellence in Media

  • Kimberly Bryant - Education Award



bottom of page